Sporting News Names McDermott an All-American
Tuesday, March 6, 2012

Doug McDermott, who has also been named Larry Bird Missouri Valley Conference Player of the Year and Most Outstanding Player of the State Farm MVC Tournament in the past week, is Creighton's first player to be honored on Sporting News' postseason team since Kyle Korver also earned second-team accolades in 2002-03.

The first team consisted of SN's National Player of the Year Anthony Davis (Kentucky), and also includes Draymond Green (Michigan State), Isaiah Canaan (Murray State), Thomas Robinson (Kansas) and Jared Sullinger (Ohio State).

McDermott was honored on the second team along with Marquette's Jae Crowder, Missouri's Marcus Denmon, Kentucky's Michael Kidd-Gichrist and North Carolina's Tyler Zeller.

McDermott ranks third nationally with his 23.2 scoring average and seventh with his 61.0 percent shooting from the floor. He also ranks second in the MVC with 8.2 rebounds per game and 49.5 percent marksmanship from three-point range. McDermott owns a Creighton-record 765 points this season, and scored 33 points in Sunday's MVC Tournament title game victory over Illinois State that clinched a bid to the NCAA Tournament.

On Monday, McDermott was tabbed a first-team All-American by's Jason King



First team

 F Anthony Davis, 6-10, Fr., Kentucky

 F Draymond Green, 6-7, Sr., Michigan State

 G Isaiah Canaan, 6-0, Jr., Murray State

 F Thomas Robinson, 6-10, Jr., Kansas

 C Jared Sullinger, 6-9, Soph., Ohio State


 Second team

 G Marcus Denmon, 6-3, Sr., Missouri

 F Jae Crowder, 6-6, Sr., Marquette

 F Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, 6-7, Fr., Kentucky

 F Doug McDermott, 6-7, Soph., Creighton

 C Tyler Zeller, 7-0, Sr., North Carolina


 Third team

 G John Jenkins, 6-4, Jr., Vanderbilt

 G Tyshawn Taylor, 6-3, Sr., Kansas

 F Harrison Barnes, 6-8, Soph., North Carolina

 F Kevin Jones, 6-8. Sr., West Virginia

 F Mike Scott, 6-8, Sr., Virginia


 SN'S All-Freshman team

 G Austin Rivers, 6-4, Duke

 G Tony Wroten, 6-5, Washington

 F Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, 6-7, Kentucky

 C Anthony Davis, 6-10, Kentucky

 C Cody Zeller, 6-11, Indiana